Torture the Artist

your blog for electronic and contemporary club music, art and culture!

Berlin Minimal Dj Name Generator

♬ ♪ ♫  The Educator and Almighty DJ-Name Creator  ♫♩♬

a campaign supported by Torture the Artist

You always wanted to be hip, be part of Berlin-Mitte, spinning digitals on your pioneers, but yet you are just a nameless DJ pushing knobs? Here’s the solution for at least one of your problems: The Berlin Minimal DJ Name Generator. Get yours before someone get’s it first. Make yourself a name in the DJ biz!

For more updates and music check connect with us on the following pages:

♬ ♪ ♫  Wassup Party PPL ♫♩♬

Torture the Artist's track o' da week comes from legendary HipHop formation The Roots, who come around the corner with “When The People Cheer” - the first single of their upcoming album “And Then You Shoot Your Cousin” due to be Def Jam. Enjoy!

Still waiting on Matthias Meyer's release on Watergate but in the meantime he provides us with a remix to Dilo's 21st Century Fox. Quite a tune, seems as if Mr. Meyer's got a run.

Innervisions label head Dixon returns with two tracks. First he remixes westcoast bird Claude VonStroke and his track “Urban Animal” and secondly he gives Joy Wellboy's “Before the Sunrise” a pretty melancholic treatment. Outstanding.

Our last recommendations are Balcazar & Sordo's track “Calling For You”, a trippy vocal track out on Culprint, and Konstantin Sibold's remix to GusGus's latest track “Crossfade”. This is probably the future of pop sound.

Torture the Artist’s special draft of the week goes to Swedish Electro Pop band Little Dragon, who released their new single called Paris this week.

That’s it for the week. For more updates and music check connect with us on the following pages:



♬ ♪ ♫ Berghain / Panoramabar / Berlin ♫♩♬

♬ ♪ ♫ Berghain / Panoramabar / Berlin ♫♩♬

(Source: gesinep)

♬ ♪ ♫ Richie Hawtin exposed as the coolest cat in the biz ♫♩♬

♬ ♪ ♫ Richie Hawtin exposed as the coolest cat in the biz ♫♩♬

♬ ♪ ♫  Welcome to Wonderland ♫♩♬

It’s a brand new day, a brand new week, a even newer month. Time to come up with some recommendations for your musical pleasure. Torture the Artist's track of the week comes from Ane Brun is called “To Let Myself Go (Andre Hommen Remix)” and is going to be released on Dennis Ferrer's label Objectivity. Don't sleep on this one.

In about two weeks DJ Tennis is going to release his highly anticipated EP “Local”, which is - surprise surprise - due on Life And Death, and premiered a first track called “You Closed My Eyes” a couple of days ago. Dreamy, melancholic vocals and a trippy beat. Just beautiful.

After his success on DFTD last year Aaaron returns with some edgy house tunes on the British label. His newest EP is called “What Makes You Itch” and features three tech house tunes with the EP’s leading track being one hell of a club banger.

As a continuous mix Torture the Artist recommends “Ode To Francis Bacon” by NamelessCreature.

That’s it for the week. For more updates and music check connect with us on the following pages:

Panorama Bar Empiric Study…. ummm…. yes! 

Panorama Bar Empiric Study…. ummm…. yes! 

♬ ♪ ♫ muse sick ‘n’ hour mess age ♫♩♬

Torture the Artist provides you all with fresh music. At first David August's upcoming Album was tied up in our thoughts, but after having had a sneak peak, we rather present his remix work for High Heels Breaker feat. Sarah Palin called “Come Easy” on Compost. Deeply smooth house with a peak-time approach. Not as trancy as his latest EP on Innervisions, but hell do we need a second EP in the same style?

Forrest returns with another remix for Nic Faniciulli's imprint “Saved”. This time The Chaser's track “Cuartero” gets a special vocal treatment, after Forrest had already convinced us with a remix for Reto Ardour and of course his work with Avatism

Today DJ Koze's Amygdala Remixes #2 were released. After his Echo-award from yesterday the next big think from Koze this week. “Nice's Wölkchen” was remixed by Robag Whrume while Roman Flügel put his hands on “Amygdala”.

Sandrino & Frankey, the guys who delivered us “Save EP” on Innervisions created a pretty well sounding mix for their release.

And talking about mixes and good music: Maribou State came up with a damn straight mix today. Those ones you will still be listening to in a couple of years.

That’s it for the week. For more updates and music check connect with us on the following pages:

Torture the Artist's track of the week comes from….

Ten Walls alias Mario Basanov on Boso Sound and is named “Walking With Elephants”. After Ten Walls smash “Gotham” released last year on Innervisions and “Requiem” due on Life And Death, it’s Basanov's third EP in a row achieving immediately cult status. 

Follow Torture the Artist on facebook or soundcloud:

♬ ♪ ♫ Torture the Artist’s Music Special ♫♩♬


Finally Dixon's & Ame's label Innervisions release most of their set's bombs with catalogue number 50 (IV50) out on Monday, March 17 on vinyl and digitally at Beatport. The release includes new and highly anticipated track from David August, Recondite, Frankey & Sandrino and Orson Wells

Congratulations to 50 superior releases Innervisions!

Follow Torture the Artist on soundcloud: